Attorney's and Clients

 

                   Join Michigan Interlock's Lawyers Club

 

When you join the Michigan Interlock Lawyers Club, each client that you refer will receive a 10% discount on installation. Clients, ask your attorney to sign up today.

 

                                              JOIN NOW!

Please submit name, address, phone, email and Michigan Law License number to join.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michigan Interlock

 

1-888-STOP DUI  (786-7384)

2911 Pontiac Lake Rd., Ste. A

Waterford, MI 48328

Email: Michigan Interlock

Michigan's Drunk/Drug Driving Laws

Michigan's Guide to Ignition Interlock Devices

The Law
After a habitual drunk driver has served the minimum period of revocation/denial, he or she may be eligible for a Driver License Appeal hearing. If the hearing is held after October 1, 1999, and the person is authorized for a restricted license, the hearing officer must order the installation of an ignition interlock device in any vehicle the person intends to operate. The interlock device must be installed for the first year of license restrictions. The person cannot drive until after the interlock device has been installed on the vehicle and proof of installation has been submitted to a local branch office of the Secretary of State by your provider.

Cost
The state does not regulate the cost of ignition interlock devices. However, the Legislature did limit the amount that can be charged to people on low-incomes to a maximum of $2 per day. In order to qualify for this reduced fee your income must fall below 150% of the current Poverty Guidelines of the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services. To determine if you may qualify, see your provider for details. The state law does require copies of the previous year filed State Income Tax forms for verification.
Poverty Guidelines Application.

Final Report
You must drive with an Ignition Interlock installed on your vehicle and a valid driver's license for at least 1 full year. You may then petition the Drivers Assessment and Appeal Division (DAAD) for a hearing. At that hearing you must present your final report issued by your provider to establish the mandatory minimum length of installation required by law.

Violations
Violations of the interlock program are divided into "major" and "minor" violations.

Minor violations include:

  1. Two months or more after the BAIID is installed, 3 startup test failures (BAIID prevented vehicle from starting) occur within a monitoring period.
  2. The petitioner fails to report to the BAIID installer for monitoring (recalibrations) within 7 days after his/her scheduled monitoring date.


Major violations include:

  1. A rolling retest violation (the random retest detects your BAC at 0.025 or more while driving) with no subsequent sample less than 0.025 within 5 minutes.
  2. A §625g permit is issued.
  3. Receives a §625l conviction (crimes for tampering with the device).
  4. Reported of tampering or circumventing or attempts to tamper or circumvent without a conviction.
  5. Three minor violations within a monitoring period
  6. BAIID is removed and not installed in another vehicle within 7 days.


Consequences of a Violation
Minor violations will result in a three month BAIID extension, making persons ineligible for a hearing at the end of the original one-year requirement. Major violations will result in an immediate reinstatement of the revocation/denial subject to an administrative hearing.


 


 

 

All images and information © 2010 Slick & Bubba's or the respective holder.

                                            

Website Templates Available through the Slick & Bubba's Template Catalog